Eddie Schwartz

Eddie Schwartz – Songwriter, President Emeritus of the Songwriters’ Association of Canada

Eddie Schwartz is best known for writing such classic hit songs as “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” recorded by Pat Benatar, “Don’t Shed A Tear” by Paul Carrack, and “The Doctor” by the Doobie Brothers, as well as some two hundred songs recorded and performed by artists such as Joe Cocker, Carly Simon, Peter Frampton, Robert Palmer, America, Jeffrey Osborne, Donna Summer, Rita Coolidge, Rascal Flatts, Martina McBride and Mountain, among others.

As a record producer, he has enjoyed success with numerous projects, including the Doobie Brothers’ “Cycles” album, Paul Carrack’s “Groove Approved”, Rita Coolidge’s “Fire Me Back”, as well as a his own recordings as an artist. His worldwide physical sales are currently well in excess of 65 million units.

A native of Toronto, Eddie has won numerous music industry awards including multiple JUNO, BMI, and SOCAN awards, including SOCAN’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement award. In addition, he serves as President Emeritus of the Songwriters Association of Canada, Co-Chair of Music Creators North America and is Vice President of CIAM, CISAC’s music creator arm based in Paris.

Eddie was elected to six consecutive terms on the SOCAN board and Executive Committee before moving to Nashville in 1997, where he graduated from the renown Leadership Music program in 2000 and currently resides. In late 2012 Eddie was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada.


Board Member